Foods With Gluten: It Will Surprise You

9 Foods With Gluten that Will Surprise You

 

We all know white bread is out… but these other foods? Who knew?

First: What is gluten?

First: What is gluten?ISTOCK/CHAMELEONSEYE
In the last 10 years, “gluten” has become a buzzword—and a bit of a dietary demon. For most people, gluten, a protein found in many types of grains, is totally harmless. But for others it can cause a number of problems ranging from abdominal discomfort, diarrhea, and bloating, to anxiety, and fatigue. “Gluten is a challenge to our guts because it can be hard to digest,” says Beth Trimark-Connor, Level 1 Precision Nutrition Coach at GO Training in Portland, Oregon. “In people with celiac disease, gluten damages cells in the intestine and provokes an attack response from the immune system. When the immune response doesn’t stop attacking the gluten, it may also turn on the body itself.” (These are symptoms of celiac disease to pay attention to.) Some people without celiac or a gluten intolerance or sensitivity claim to experience benefits from going gluten free, including decreased brain fog, more energy, and less joint inflammation, Trimark-Connor adds. If you’re considering side-stepping gluten in your diet, you probably know to avoid wheat. But there are many other foods out there that you might not realize have gluten. Read on for the surprising list.

Rye

RyeISTOCK/SRDJAN-STEFANOVIC
While most people equate gluten with wheat, wheat is just one grain that contains gluten. So, if you see packaging that says “wheat-free,” it doesn’t necessarily means it’s also gluten-free. You’ll want to avoid rye bread and rye crackers to avoid falling into this gluten trap, and reach for a gluten-free loaf or rice-based cracker instead. What about whiskey, which is made from rye? The verdict is mixed, but many celiac disease associations say whiskey is OK to drink, due to the distilling process. However, some people do report having a reaction to rye whiskey, so proceed with caution.

Barley

BarleyISTOCK/ZERBOR
Along with rye and wheat, barley is one of the most common gluten-containing grains. That means that pearled barley—often found in soups like beef and barley—is a no-no. It also means that malt products are off-limits, including malt candy and malted milk. Instead of barley-based soups, opt for one with rice instead. And the great news? Chocolate is totally safe (unless it contains malt balls)! Here are other gluten-free recipes to add to your collection.

Beer

BeerISTOCK/ZUSEK
It’s a sad but true fact that most beers are not gluten-free. Beer is often derived from malted barley or malted wheat, both of which contain gluten. However, with rising demand for gluten-free everything, there’s a growing number of gluten-free beers coming to store shelves. These beers are usually made from corn or rice, and are generally safe for gluten-sensitive folks to drink. Did you know all these reasons beer is good for you?

Soy sauce

Soy sauceISTOCK/FFOLAS
It seems like sushi would be a safe bet for someone trying to avoid foods with gluten—it’s just fish and rice, both of which are safe, right? But don’t forget about the sauces. Soy sauce, a common dipper and base for sauces at Japanese restaurants, contains wheat, and therefore gluten. Keep in mind that soy sauce isn’t just for sushi. You’ll often find soy sauce in frozen vegetables with sauces, salad dressings, and marinades too. Luckily, there’s a gluten-free alternative, called tamari, that tastes nearly identical and does not contain wheat.

Oats

OatsISTOCK/ARX0NT
Oats are technically a gluten-free food, but they are often cross-contaminated. Gluten from wheat, rye, or barley can be transferred to the oats in the fields, or in manufacturing plants that also process gluten-containing grains. If you love your morning oatmeal, look for a certified gluten-free variety—these oats are specially monitored to avoid cross-contamination. Dial up the flavor and the nutrition in your next bowl with these tasty oatmeal toppers.

Malt extract

Malt extractISTOCK/MYBONA
So if corn and rice are safe, that means you can have corn- and rice-based cereals, right? Well…not necessarily. Many cereals contain malt extract, which, you guessed it, is a source of gluten. While Kellogg’s Corn Flakes and Rice Krispies are off the table, so to speak, there are a number of healthy gluten-free cereal options out there.

Cream sauces

Cream saucesISTOCK/COBRAPHOTO
Not all sauces contain gluten, but many cream-based and gravy-type sauces do. That’s because they’re often thickened with flour. If you’re making the sauce at home, you can easily swap out the flour for half that amount of cornstarch. If you’re ordering from a restaurant, be sure to ask for your Alfredo to be gluten-free.

Imitation crab meat

Imitation crab meatISTOCK/BHOFACK2
There’s more than fish in imitation crab meat, a staple of salad bars and mock-California rolls. The processed fish that forms the “crab” meat is often molded together with wheat products. Go for the real thing, or omit it altogether if you’re looking to avoid gluten.

Seitan

SeitanISTOCK/EKSPANSIO
Vegetarians and vegans are likely familiar with seitan, an alternative to meat. Seitan is sometimes referred to as “Wheat Meat,” so… yes, it does contain gluten. If you’re looking for a non-meat protein source, tofu is naturally gluten-free. Here are more perfect protein sources for vegetarians.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *